The aftermath

The snow stopped falling sometime overnight. I let the dogs out before breakfast. The old man, Bear, took his usual route to explore the shed before venturing slowly into the yard. I’m sure he would have run and played, but that requires lots of leaping through snow. He’s not up to it these days.

IMG_0100

River, on the other hand, is full of life. But that doesn’t include snow play. She stayed under the deck, not really sure what to do with all this snow.

IMG_0099

I walked out into the yard, hoping it would encourage River to run after me. She did – only to eat the chunks of snow in my path. I walked further into the yard, and whistled for her. Hearing the whistle, old man Bear did his best to come to me. Senior dogs are not built for snow. River did come, eventually, only to see if the snow by me tasted better than the rest of it.

Later in the afternoon, I tried again with River. Surely I can get her to stop eating and play, right?

No luck. And, she only ventured on the paths I created – no veering off and romping through the snow on her own.

And she started to look for and eat bigger chunks of snow.

IMG_0135
Chomp! Chomp! Chomp!  Must eat snow!

After numerous attempts to get her attention, she finally looked at me. At first, she was a bit scared.

IMG_0136

Then she thought I had a treat for her – maybe something that tasted better than snow!

IMG_0137

And finally, she looked around.

IMG_0138

I’d like to think she was enjoying the beauty of the snow, but I’m sure she was just trying to figure out how to fit it all in her mouth.

Leave a Reply

