Springtime chores…and fetch?

IMG_0449
Fetch. Fetch. Fetch.

Saturday was a beautiful spring day. Perfect day to mow the lawn for the first time this year.

I opened up the doors to let some fresh air in the house. Not wanting to keep all the dogs in the house unattended while I worked, I let Greta outside to enjoy the fresh air.

The lawnmower required a few extra pulls to get it started after being stored over the winter. But it soon purred to life and I got to work taking care of the front yard.

Bear and River set up shop at the front door and watched me. Greta watched me too – from the other side of the fence. Every now and then, I’d catch her with a tennis ball in her mouth, just begging me to come and throw it.

IMG_0454
Chomp. Chomp. Chomp.

After lunch, I set to work on the backyard. This time, I let Bear and River outside with me. This would be the first time River has been outside while I did yard work. It would also be the longest I’ve left her out. I assumed she would love it and I would spend the whole time keeping track of where she was just in case she found another escape route. I assumed wrong.

Greta wasted no time trotting over with the tennis ball and dropping it at my feet. I picked it up and tossed it to the other end of the yard and proceeded to mow the lawn. Greta came running back, ball in mouth. Un-phased by the running mower, she dropped the ball again. I picked it up and tossed it again and continued mowing. This went on for a little bit before Greta settled down in yard and chomped on the ball.

IMG_0458
Can we go inside?

Bear settled in on the deck to enjoy the sun.

River stood at the door, begging to go in.

As much as I wanted her to love just exploring the yard, she reminded me of Josie. I’m okay with that. She has all summer to explore the yard.

4 thoughts on “Springtime chores…and fetch?

  1. It sounds like a productive day for you and a fun one for the dogs. Tippy’s modus operandi when I start the lawn mower is to bark at it a few times, run around it in circles, and then go sit in the edge of the woods and watch me mow. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

