Going for a run

Years ago, I decided to start running. I kept up with it for a few months and made lots of progress. For the first time in my life, I was able to run more than a mile. It was pretty awesome. But I’m lazy, and when winter came, I stopped and never picked it back up.

Despite giving up on running, I always tried to stay active. However, with everything going on last year, I just didn’t keep up with it. Now that spring has hit, I’ve realized I’m way out of shape and even mowing the lawn wears me out.

IMG_0395Enter River. The vet had suggested jogging with her would be good to help maintain the muscle in her legs. That idea has stuck in my head every since she said it.

We haven’t quite mastered the walk, so I’ve been hesitant to take her out for runs. But on this lazy Sunday afternoon, I decided to give it a try.

She jogs so much better than she walks. It was perfect. Her only flaw was she tired out pretty early and lagged behind. But that was probably good for me – it forced me to go at a slower pace.  And no worries, we took plenty of walking breaks. I don’t want either of us to over do it as we start out.

She’s now sleeping peacefully on the couch, tired for our exercise. Here’s hoping I keep up with it, because I think it will do both of us some good.

3 thoughts on “Going for a run

  1. Yes. Take it slow and easy to begin with. A couple of years ago, I was running a lot, got up to 6 miles without stopping and then I hurt my leg playing tennis. I am just now getting back to running. It’s hard, I know. I’m sure you can do it, especially with River as motivation.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Energy vs Endurance – The Admiral vs The Dogs

Leave a Reply

