Energy vs Endurance

Starting up running again seemed like a good idea. Until it rained all month. I didn’t get back out there until last week. And this time around, River wasn’t entirely thrilled.

Despite taking it really easy, she lagged behind after the first 10 minutes, which included the 5 minute warm-up. I realized she was starting to slow me down, and perhaps this wasn’t her thing.

I did what I always do, I turned to the internet to see what I could do to ease her into it. The best advice I read was for people starting to run. It’s pretty simple: if you can’t walk briskly for 30 minutes, you can’t run yet. Start there.

IMG_0698So the next day, I took River out for a brisk walk.

We made it 30 minutes, but I ended up carrying her home.

And, although she recovered, she was so tired afterwards she sat while eating her dinner an hour later.

Turns out, this dog full of energy has no endurance. Just bursts of speed.

2 thoughts on “Energy vs Endurance

Leave a Reply

