Rain and steps = danger

Bear’s back legs continue to give him problems. At times, they don’t want to work. However, he still jumps up on the couch with little problem. I find that encouraging.

It’s been raining steady for almost a week. Bear hates the rain. That means, I usually have to go outside with him to encourage him to go down the deck steps to do his business. Last night, I noticed when he did go down, his back legs gave out half way down. No worries, it is only 3 steps, so he wasn’t hurt. But I still wanted to help him if I could.

So during the last trip outside before bed, I put on my shoes and went out with the dogs with every intention of helping Bear. River jumped off the steps and ran into the dark to go explore one last time that night. Bear stood on the deck looking at me as if I was crazy.

“Come on, boy,” I said, as I boldly approached the steps. The steps that have been rained on all week. And have a slight layer of filth on them.

I got to the first step and as soon as my foot hit it, it slipped right out from under me.

Down I went.

Hard.

I had not realized that layer of filth and rain had created an extremely slippery surface.

I sat there for a minute, processing what happened. I looked at the steps, and sure enough there was claw marks, indicating Bear’s legs hadn’t given out. He had slipped just like I did.

I looked at him.

He looked at me as if to say, “I been there. Hurt, don’t it?”

 

Leave a Reply

