Old dogs deserve comfy beds

I never thought much about dog beds. Then I realized I had senior dogs. Then I thought a lot about dog beds. I went the extra mile, and got extra comfy beds for my senior dogs. (Or what I thought were extra comfy beds.)

Flash forward to couple of weeks ago. I noticed Bear hadn’t been using the beds that much. River uses the couch, but Bear spends more time on the floor than the bed. I was curious about this, so I went over to one of the beds and sat on it. When I first got it it was comfy. Now, my boney butt sank right to the floor. I bet to Bear, laying on the bed was no different than laying on the floor.

I was a bit disappointed – I spent decent money on those beds. But in reality, they were just overrated egg crate foam.

Just by chance, something popped up in my FB feed – a high end dog bed seller was having a fundraiser for rescues. I started thinking, and researching and decided to go all in on a new bed for Bear. And, it was nice to know part of the proceeds would go to a good cause. I even picked a rescue specifically for senior dogs.

It was a lot more than I’d ever admit spending on a dog bed. But it has a 10 year warranty – all the dog beds I’ve owned in that time won’t equal the cost. And, I know for a fact I feel better on a good bed. Senior dogs with achey joints have got to feel the same way.

I was excited when the dog bed arrived, hoping it would live up to the hype. Bear and River were also excited.

img_0053

The box was relatively small, given how big the bed is. But, it is made of memory foam and I’m always impressed how compressed it can be.

img_0054

River was VERY excited about the bed. (She was a bit disappointed when I told her it was for Bear.)img_0055

After all the unwrapping, the bed expanded to its normal size. Seriously? How did they fit that in the box?

img_0056

Once I put it where Bear’s old bed was, River promptly made herself at home. Non-confrontational Bear found a spot on the floor.img_0060

It didn’t take long before Bear found his way up onto the bed.

img_0061

And let’s just say…img_0063

I think he enjoys it.

img_0065

And, for comparison, here’s the old bed next to the new one – doesn’t come close to matching size, comfort or quality.img_0070

(Some things are worth the cost.)

One thought on “Old dogs deserve comfy beds

Leave a Reply

