Roadtrip!

Every now and then, for the holidays I take the dogs south. Bear is an old pro, so I wasn’t too worried how he would do. But this was River’s first long car ride. I didn’t know if she would settle down or try and jump into my lap at some point.

Well, it wasn’t long into the trip before she settled into one of the few positions she choose for the trip.

IMG_0283

If you can’t tell, she’s laying down with her chin resting on the front console. Staring at me. Intensely.

She did this for awhile and then drifted off to sleep.

IMG_0284

When that position got tiring, she shifted over to sit as close to me as she possibly could. I felt her breath on the back of my neck as she sat just behind my right shoulder. I glanced every now and then and to see that she she was either watching the road or watching me. Intensely.

When she got tired of sitting, she laid down again. Chin on console. Staring until she drifted off to sleep.

Usually, it is an eight hour drive. This time around, it took close to eleven hours. As the miles passed, River got up, moved around and then re-settled into a position where she could watch me and/or my driving.

When we finally arrived, I was tired. Bear was tired. River was tired. And I imagine her neck hurt.